States you can Conceal Carry Without a License
In my searcch on the States you can conceal carry without a license I came across a huge amount of information and find that while most states have about the same regulations, some have very different laws and regulations. Other than a few small regulations, gun laws and regulations are ultimately governed by the individual states.
What is the difference between Conceal Carry and Open Carry?
Before we just list those states, lets review what exactly Conceal Carry and Open Carry mean. The dictionary states that
Conceal Carry – is the practice of carrying a concealed weapon on one’s person in public.
Open Carry – is the practice of openly carrying a weapon on one’s person in public.
Simple enough terms, but individual states have different regulations on how those weapons are concealed and the stated of the weapon itself. For example, in North Dakota you can open carry an unloaded firearm only in the daylight hours without a license but with a CCL you can open carry a loaded firearm in the daylight. However you can open carry a long gun without regulations. Kinda sounds like Barney Fife to me!!
Concealed Carry License
Another place I found differences in the gun laws from state to state was in how each of them issues a conceal carry license. They have different classifications on these permits and different requirements. The different classifications I found are:
- Shall Issue to Residents Only – These are issued to the residents of that state only with all requirements met. Alabama, Louisana, Colorado, Michigan, Georgia, Montana, Wyoming
- Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents – These are issued to both residents and non-residents of the state and also must have requirements met. Arkansas, Washington DC, Florida, Idaho,Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennesseee, Texax, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.
- May Issue to Residents Only – In the states of California, and Delaware, the governing body can decide if they want to issue a license and if they do you must complete their requirements. Note: California has the strictest gun laws.
- May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents – In these states the government can decide if a license is issued to an individual (resident or non-resident) with requirements met. Conneticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massechutets, New Jersey, and New York.
- Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only – In Alaska and West Virginia, a resident can conceal carry without obtaining a license but the states will also issue a license.
- Constitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents – In these states no license is needed but the state will issue a license to both residents and non-residents with certain requirements met. Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire
- Constitutional Carry and Does Not Issue – In Vermont, no license is required or issued.
- Right Denied– In the US Terratories of American Samoa and North Mariana Islands, no citizen is allowed to carry firearms at all.
Just like with how you can carry a firearm, most states have different requirements for obtaining the Conceal Carry License. These include
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- Complete an 8 hour training class and have a Combetency Certificate
- Passport Photo
- Valid ID
- Criminal Background Check
- Mental Competency Check
- Fee (Of Course!)
Open Carry regulations are even more complicated by state, but that will be a story for another day.
SO where can you Conceal Carry Without a License?
The United States has more privately owned firearms than any other country in the world. Here 1 in 3 Americans own a firearm with more than half of all adults owning at least one.
The 12 states where you can conceal carry without a licence are:
- Alaska – 61.7% Firearm Ownership (Highest in the country)
- Arizona – 32.3% Firearm Ownership
- Idaho – 56.9% Firearm Ownership
- Kansas – 32.2% Firearm Ownership
- Maine – 22.6% Firearm Ownership
- Mississippi – 42.8% Firearm Ownership
- Missouri – 27.1% Firearm Ownership
- New Hampshire – 14.4% Firearm Ownership
- North Dakota – 47.9 Firearm Ownership
- Vermont – 28.8% Firearm Ownership
- West Virginia – 54.2% Firearm Ownership
- Wyoming – 53.8% Firearm Ownership
Those that oppose the carrying of any firearm be it concealed or open will spout off all sorts of negative statitistics as to the casualities that firearms cause but don’t seem to include the overall crime rate for that state.
“A well regulated militia, being necessary to the specurity of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.”